Notice(s)
  • We have resumed most of our activities. However, given the situation regarding COVID-19, we will assess any new requests based on their urgency and the date of receipt so that we can provide services to our clients in a fair manner. Additionally, response times may be delayed.

    We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause and thank you for your understanding. We encourage you to check our site frequently for the latest updates to our services.

SHOULDER FORM - Humanities

Field label
SHOULDER FORM
Field mnemonic
SHL
Field name
  • Shoulder Form
  • Forme de l'épaule
Field definition
This field indicates the form of the shoulder of the object and may be used to describe ceramics, projectile points or dinner forks.
Heading
FIELDS FOR CERAMICS, CONTAINERS OR VESSELS
Comments
NOTE: This field has NOT been updated as part of the May 2010 Data Dictionary update. Priority for the Data Dictionary update was given to those fields that are required or strongly recommended for Artefacts Canada contribution. The Entry Rules for this field will be updated at a later date.
Entry rules
Enter user defined keywords to describe the base form. Authority lists for fields for ceramics, containers or vessels may be found in: Syms, E. Leigh (ed.) 1988. Guides and Manuals for Processing Archaeological Materials. October. Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature. Winnipeg, Manitoba. Attributed data should be followed by space "?". A semicolon and a space should separate multiple entries.
Cataloguers rules
For ceramics, containers or vessels, the following groups of fields are available: base, body, shoulder, neck, collar, lip, rim, stem, closure and bore. For gunflints, knives or lithic cutting implements, the following groups of fields are available: working edge, notch, hafting, platform, cortex and tip. See also, Shoulder Angle (SHA).
Data type
alpha-numeric string
Examples
  • recurved
  • conical
  • square
  • seam
  • rhomboidal
  • pyramidal
  • oval
  • mould markings ?
  • recourbé
  • conique
  • strié
  • repoussé
  • ovale
  • marques du moule
Discipline
  • Archaeology
Field label (French)
FORME DE L'EPAULE
Field mnemonic (French)
FORE

Contact information for this web page
Date modified:

Recherche

Avis(s)

Nous avons repris la plupart de nos activités. Toutefois, compte tenu de la situation liée à la COVID-19, nous évaluerons toute nouvelle demande en fonction de son degré d’urgence et de sa date de réception. En procédant ainsi, nous pouvons servir nos clients de manière équitable. Aussi, prenez note que les délais de réponse pourraient être plus longs qu’à l’habitude.

Nous nous excusons des inconvénients que cela pourrait occasionner et vous remercions de votre compréhension. Veuillez consulter notre site Web régulièrement pour obtenir les dernières mises à jour au sujet de nos services.

FORME DE L'EPAULE - Sciences humaines

Étiquette
FORME DE L'EPAULE
Code mnémonique
FORE
Nom de zone
  • Shoulder Form
  • Forme de l'épaule
Définition
Cette zone décrit la forme de l'épaule de l'objet sur lequel porte l'enregistrement. Elle peut être utilisée également pour décrire les objets en céramique, les projectiles ou les fourchettes.
Rubrique
ZONES RELATIVES A LA CERAMIQUE, AUX RECIPIENTS ET AUX VASES
Commentaires
NOTE: Cette zone n'a pas été revue lors de la mise à jour du Dictionnaire de données des sciences humaines de mai 2010. Au cours de cette mise à jour, la priorité a été accordée aux zones obligatoires ou fortement recommandées pour la contribution à Artefacts Canada. Les règles d'introduction des données de la présente zone seront mises à jour ultérieurement.
Règles d'intro
Inscrire des mots clés décrivant la forme de l'épaule. L'utilisation d'un vocabulaire contrôlé donnera de meilleurs résultats au moment de la recherche. Des listes d'autorité pour les zones relatives à la céramique, aux récipients et aux vases sont proposées dans l'ouvrage : SYMS, E. Leigh (éd.). Guides and Manuals for Processing Archaeological Materials, Winnipeg, Musée manitobain de l'Homme et de la Nature, octobre 1988. Une donnée hypothétique doit être suivie d'un blanc et d'un point d'interrogation (?). Séparer les entrées multiples par un point-virgule suivi d'un blanc.
Règles de catalogage
Pour les objets en céramique, les récipients et les vases, on peut se servir de l'ensemble des zones portant sur la base, la panse, l'épaule, le col, le collier, la lèvre, le bord, le pied, le bouchon et le trou. Pour les silex, les couteaux, les objets tranchants en pierre, voir l'ensemble des zones portant sur le tranchant, l'entaille, le manche, le talon plat, le cortex et le bout. Voir aussi la zone Angle de l'épaule (ANGE).
Type de données
Chaîne alphanumérique
Exemples
  • recurved
  • conical
  • square
  • seam
  • rhomboidal
  • pyramidal
  • oval
  • mould markings ?
  • recourbé
  • conique
  • strié
  • repoussé
  • ovale
  • marques du moule
Discipline
  • Archéologie
Étiquette en anglais
SHOULDER FORM
Code mnémonique en anglais
SHL

Coordonnées de cette page web

Date de modification :