Notice(s)
  • We have resumed most of our activities. However, given the situation regarding COVID-19, we will assess any new requests based on their urgency and the date of receipt so that we can provide services to our clients in a fair manner. Additionally, response times may be delayed.

    We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause and thank you for your understanding. We encourage you to check our site frequently for the latest updates to our services.

WIDTH - Humanities

Field label
WIDTH
Field mnemonic
WI
Field name
  • Width
  • Largeur totale
Field definition
This field contains the measurement of the object's overall width, excluding any frame or pedestal. If the object is irregular, the measurement represents the greatest width including all component parts. Width is one of the horizontal dimensions of an object.
Status
Strongly recommended for uploading to Artefacts Canada. At least one of the dimensions fields is required for data contributed to Artefacts Canada as part of a CHIN-funded project (e.g. VMC).
Heading
DIMENSION FIELDS
Comments
Edits were made to this field in May 2010. Data entry rules were made more precise, and harmonized with those recommended in Cataloging Cultural Objects: A Guide to Describing Cultural Works and Their Images. By Murtha Baca, Patricia Harpring, Elisa Lanzi, Linda McRae, and Ann Whiteside. Visual Resources Association. Chicago: American Library Association, 2006. Website: http://www.vrafoundation.org/ccoweb/index.htm (accessed 2010-03-05).
Entry rules
Enter a single dimension measurement, expressed as numerics only. Do not use multiple entries. Measure paintings, face down, to the outer edges of the stretcher or panel. For objects with a main side, the width is the maximum dimension measured from left to right, along a real or imaginary horizontal line. The depth is the other horizontal dimension, measured from front to back. For objects with no main side, the width is the smaller horizontal dimension, and the length, the larger one. Express measurements for a primarily two-dimensional work, such as a drawing or painting, as height by width. Express measurements for a three-dimensional work, such as a sculpture or piece of furniture, as height by width by depth.
Cataloguers rules
Comments about partial or questionable measurements should be noted in the Dimension Remarks field (DIREM). For recording the image, composition or plate mark width for prints, use the Image Width field (IWI). See also, Unit Linear (UNL).
Data type
real number
Examples
  • 50.5
  • 70
  • 9.217
  • 50,5
  • 70
  • 9.217
Discipline
  • Multidiscipline
Source
  • Archaeology (Specimens) Task Force
  • History Task Force
  • Ethnology Task Force
  • Fine and Decorative Arts Task Force
  • Cataloging Cultural Objects: A Guide to Describing Cultural Works and Their Images. By Murtha Baca, Patricia Harpring, Elisa Lanzi, Linda McRae, and Ann Whiteside. Visual Resources Association. Chicago: American Library Association, 2006. Pages 109-120. Website: http://www.vraweb.org/ccoweb/cco/about.html (accessed 2013-10-28).
  • Société des Musées Québécois, How to measure objects? In Documenting Your Collections: Info-Muse Network Documentation Guide. Website: http://www.musees.qc.ca/publicsspec/guidesel/doccoll/en/measure/index.htm (accessed 2010-03-05).
Field label (French)
LARGEUR
Field mnemonic (French)
LA

Contact information for this web page
Date modified:

Recherche

Avis(s)

Nous avons repris la plupart de nos activités. Toutefois, compte tenu de la situation liée à la COVID-19, nous évaluerons toute nouvelle demande en fonction de son degré d’urgence et de sa date de réception. En procédant ainsi, nous pouvons servir nos clients de manière équitable. Aussi, prenez note que les délais de réponse pourraient être plus longs qu’à l’habitude.

Nous nous excusons des inconvénients que cela pourrait occasionner et vous remercions de votre compréhension. Veuillez consulter notre site Web régulièrement pour obtenir les dernières mises à jour au sujet de nos services.

LARGEUR - Sciences humaines

Étiquette
LARGEUR
Code mnémonique
LA
Nom de zone
  • Width
  • Largeur totale
Définition
Cette zone contient la mesure de la largeur totale de l'objet, en excluant le cadre ou le piédestal. Si l’objet est de forme irrégulière, inscrire la largeur la plus grande, incluant les parties constituantes. La largeur est l’une des mesures horizontales de l’objet.
Statut
Zone fortement recommandée pour contribution à Artefacts Canada. Au moins une zone de dimensions est obligatoire pour contribution à Artefacts Canada dans tous les projets subventionnés par le RCIP (par exemple ceux du MVC).
Rubrique
ZONES RELATIVES AUX DIMENSIONS
Commentaires
Une mise à jour de cette zone a été effectuée en mai 2010. Les règles d'introduction des données ont été précisées et harmonisées avec celles proposées dans l'ouvrage Cataloging Cultural Objects: A Guide to Describing Cultural Works and Their Images. Par Murtha Baca, Patricia Harpring, Elisa Lanzi, Linda McRae et Ann Whiteside. Visual Resources Association. Chicago: American Library Association, 2006. Site Web: http://www.vrafoundation.org/ccoweb/index.htm (consulté le 2010-03-05).
Règles d'intro
Inscrire une seule mesure, en chiffres uniquement. Mesurer l’endos des peintures, depuis l'extérieur du panneau ou de la toile. Pour les objets qui ont une face principale, mesurer la largeur maximale de l’objet de gauche à droite, en suivant une ligne horizontale réelle ou imaginaire. L’autre dimension horizontale, mesurée de l’avant vers l’arrière de l’objet, est sa profondeur. Dans le cas des objets sans face principale, la largeur constitue la dimension horizontale la plus petite de l’objet, alors que la longueur constitue la dimension horizontale la plus grande. Pour une œuvre en deux dimensions, comme un dessin ou une peinture, les dimensions s’expriment en termes de la hauteur par la largeur. Pour un objet en trois dimensions, comme une sculpture ou une pièce de mobilier, inscrire les mesures selon la hauteur par la largeur par la profondeur.
Règles de catalogage
Inscrire dans la zone Remarques sur les dimensions (REMDIM) les commentaires sur des mesures partielles ou douteuses. Pour la mesure de la largeur de l'image, de la composition ou de la plaque, utiliser la zone Largeur de l'image (LAIM). Voir aussi la zone Unité de mesure linéaire (UNL).
Type de données
Nombre réel
Exemples
  • 50.5
  • 70
  • 9.217
  • 50,5
  • 70
  • 9.217
Discipline
  • Pluridisciplinaire
Source
  • Groupe de travail en archéologie (spécimens)
  • Groupe de travail en histoire
  • Groupe de travail en ethnologie
  • Groupe de travail en beaux-arts et arts décoratifs
  • Cataloging Cultural Objects: A Guide to Describing Cultural Works and Their Images. Par Murtha Baca, Patricia Harpring, Elisa Lanzi, Linda McRae et Ann Whiteside. Visual Resources Association. Chicago: American Library Association, 2006. Pages 109-120. Site Web: http://www.vraweb.org/ccoweb/cco/about.html (accessed 2013-10-28).
  • Société des musées québécois, Comment mesurer les objets ? Dans Comment documenter vos collections ? Le Guide de documentation du Réseau Info-Muse. Site Web : http://www.musees.qc.ca/publicsspec/guidesel/doccoll/fr/mesurer/index.htm (consulté le 2010-03-05).
Étiquette en anglais
WIDTH
Code mnémonique en anglais
WI

Coordonnées de cette page web

Date de modification :