Notice(s)
  • Given the situation surrounding COVID-19, the Canadian Heritage Information Network is no longer able to follow up on the requests that will be submitted until further notice. Upon resumption of regular CHIN activities, we will be able to follow up on requests received. CHIN would like to thank you for your understanding.

User Guide - Humanities

Acknowledgements

CHIN would like to thank the following organizations and groups who have assisted us in the preparation of the CHIN Data Dictionaries: the original users of the Canadian Heritage Information Network, the CHIN Users' working groups, members of the Natural Science task forces, the Archaeological Sites working group, the CHIN Standards Working Groups, as well as the various experts who have freely given their advice and support.

Introduction

A data dictionary defines all the categories or types of information in a database. The CHIN Data Dictionaries contain a description of database fields for museum collection and archaeological site management and documentation. Each data field in the CHIN Data Dictionaries is described by a field label, a mnemonic, a name, a definition, entry rules, related fields, a data type, examples, a discipline, and a source. The CHIN Data Dictionaries are used:

  • as the standard for Canadian institutions that contribute collections data to CHIN's Artefacts Canada.
  • as guidelines for institutions which are developing or modifying a collections management system.
  • to help cataloguers record information consistently, or to help users of collections databases with search strategies.

The CHIN Data Dictionaries are not a data structure for use in a collections management system, but they can be used as the basis for such a structure. They can be used by a wide range of museums to help them to identify their institution's information needs and standardize their documentation.

Background

From the outset of the National Inventory Programme (the precursor of the Canadian Heritage Information Network) in , many specialists, researchers, computer users, and staff members have suggested, defined, and refined the data fields in the CHIN Data Dictionaries. Thus they represent the results of many years of collaborative work.

In , the Advisory Committee to the National Inventory Programme implemented Task Forces in 11 subject areas: archaeology, fine and decorative arts, history, ethnology/culture, botany, earth sciences, ichthyology and herpetology, invertebrate zoology, mammalogy, ornithology, and palaeontology. The Task Force participants (specialists in their respective fields) identified categories of information necessary to describe objects or specimens in each discipline.

In , CHIN began to use a version of BASIS software called PARIS (Pictorial and Artifact Retrieval and Information System). At that time, a Training Database with 30 fields of information was created including numeric and textual data indexed as a prototype for a museum's collections management database.

The Training Database data fields were combined with the requirements of two pilot users, the Royal Ontario Museum and the Canadian Museum of Civilization, to create the original CHIN Data Dictionary. During the conversion of the remaining users from the old ISIS-DEAP system to BASIS, in 1982, the end users and CHIN Museum Consultants identified further fields to add to the Dictionary.

In , revisions were made to the CHIN Data Dictionaries to enable their use as the standard for CHIN's Artefacts Canada Database. Some new fields were added, and a subset of the fields (those used in Artefacts Canada) were edited to remove references to specific or obsolete technologies, and to clarify the definitions and examples. In , the remainder of the fields were edited.

In , a series of new data fields were added to CHIN's Artefacts Canada Database, to enable museums to contribute richer records and to allow more precise searching, especially for geographic data. These changes were reflected in the CHIN Data Dictionaries. The new fields were requested by CHIN's contributing members, including the CHIN Geographical Locations Standards Working Group (English) and the Archaeological Collections Standards Working Group.

After the publication of Cataloguing Cultural Objects (CCO) in , CHIN’s Standards Working Groups assessed CCO, and recommended its use by Canadian museums with Humanities collections. In , the CHIN Data Dictionaries were updated with data entry rules from CCO in order to bring them into line with international standards. To facilitate the transition to the new data entry rules and to provide more information on the CCO standard, three documents were prepared:

Relationship to Other Standards or Guidelines

The CHIN Data Dictionaries include fields for core information, as well as many discipline-specific fields. In comparison with other standards or guidelines for museum collections management, the CHIN Data Dictionaries are generally more comprehensive and discipline-specific. Although a typical museum collections management database contains only a small subset of the CHIN Data Dictionary fields, users can select the units of information that they need from among a wide range of fields (some of which are specific to certain disciplines within a museum, such as ornithology or military collections).

The CHIN Data Dictionaries can be mapped to other similar standards for cultural heritage information (e.g. the VRA Core, SPECTRUM, Object ID) or to more general standards for resource discovery (e.g. Dublin Core). It can also be mapped to the CIDOC Conceptual Reference Model. The CHIN Data Dictionary follows international conventions for data format, having incorporated the data entry rules from the Cataloguing Cultural Objects (CCO) standard.

Using the Data Dictionary

1. Contributing to CHIN's Collaborative Resources

A subset of the data fields described in the CHIN Data Dictionaries are the standard for museums contributing collections data to CHIN's Artefacts Canada. Each participating institution contributes key, non-confidential data to CHIN; this data is accessible on the Internet through Artefacts Canada.

Museums that wish to contribute data do not need to use the same field names and data structure as the CHIN Data Dictionaries. However, the museum's fields must be mapped to the CHIN Data Dictionaries in order that the resulting collaborative resources can be consistently searched, sorted, and displayed by users. For more information please consult the Artefacts Canada Contributor Documentation.

2. Database Design

A. Developing a collections management database

Museums may find the CHIN Data Dictionaries useful in the process of developing collections management systems using commercial database development applications.

The CHIN Data Dictionaries are not a data structure for use in a collections management system, but they can be used as the basis for such a structure. They are meant to define the units of information that a museum will need to record in order to properly document and manage their collections. Museums using the CHIN Data Dictionaries as the basis for a relational database will need to adapt the units of information into a relational structure. For example, in a relational system, there may be a table to store address information, so that any address (e.g. donor, previous owner, etc.) are stored as part of the table, making specialized address fields (e.g. donor address) unnecessary.

Museums can go through the CHIN Data Dictionaries and select a subset of fields that meet their individual needs. The data field definitions in the body of the CHIN Data Dictionaries will assist in the choice of appropriate fields.

B. Customizing a commercial collections management system

Some commercial collections management systems that are sold in Canada use the CHIN Data Dictionaries as the basis for their field structure. Others provide a basic database structure, but allow the museum to define new data fields, change data types, re-name fields, etc. Museums may wish to use the CHIN Data Dictionaries to help make decisions about customization of commercial collections management systems.

3. Standards for Entry and Retrieval

A. Standards in database content

The CHIN Data Dictionaries contain a definition for each data field that describes the content to be recorded in that field. This ensures that similar items of information are placed into the same field by all users. CHIN's Data Dictionaries can be used as the basis for either a flat file or a relational system; they do not prescribe a database structure.

B. Standards in format of data

The entry rules describe the format in which to enter the data. A standard format for data is suggested particularly for names, dates, and other data that users tend to use for data retrieval. Standards in format are very important for easy retrieval of data. The format rules from the Cataloging Cultural Objects (CCO) standard have been incorporated into the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary.

C. Standards in terminology

Authority lists of terminology have been created for a few of the key fields by the CHIN Working Groups; these are included as part of the CHIN Data Dictionaries. Other established standards for content or terminology, such as the Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) and Nomenclature are recommended for use within certain fields, but are available elsewhere. The Standards resources on CHIN’s Professional Exchange also are a good source of information for museums trying to select appropriate terminology standards.

For an authority list of terminology based on usage, users may wish to refer to the indices of Artefacts Canada. These will indicate which terms are in most common use and therefore, perhaps, the preferred term to use.

4. Other tools for collections documentation and management

The CHIN Data Dictionaries can also be used to create tools such as cataloguing or data entry work sheets, and institutional rules for data entry.

Data Dictionary Framework

The following sections define the data fields used to structure the CHIN Data Dictionaries:

1. Field label

The field label is the full length name of a data field, and identifies the contents of a data field when it is displayed or printed.

2. Field mnemonic

A field mnemonic is the unique abbreviation assigned to each data field. In most cases, the mnemonics of each data field within a data grouping have the same prefix. For example, field mnemonics prefixed by AR in the CHIN Humanities Data Dictionary represent a group of fields describing the Artist/Maker.

An attempt was also made to use the same root for data fields of the same nature. For example, the mnemonics for origin-country and source country both contain the root CRY.

3. Field name(s)

The field names are alternative or historical names that may be used to describe a field. In most cases, they are names used in previous versions of the CHIN Data Dictionaries. They are included in the CHIN Data Dictionaries in order to assist museums whose field names are based on previous versions of the CHIN Data Dictionaries.

4. Field definition

The data field definition states the purpose of the field and the nature of the data to be entered.

5. Entry rules

The entry rules provide an explanation of how data are to be entered in a data field. For example, the rules may recommend a format for personal or corporate names, dates, etc.

6. Related Fields

Related Fields indicate the available choices for entry where there are data fields with a similar name or definition.

7. Data type

Each individual field in a database will be assigned one of several data types, which defines how the system processes the data in that field. Commercial collections management systems often have the data types pre-defined for each field, although many allow the user to change the data type. Museums that are developing their own collections management databases will have to define data types for each of the fields that they choose to include. Some of the most common data types include:

Integer
Whole numbers (without decimals) are indexed for mathematical processing.
Real number
Real numbers (with decimals) are indexed for mathematical processing.
Alpha-numeric string
An alpha-numeric string of characters may include alphabetic characters, numbers, punctuation, or other characters normally used as data separators.

8. Examples

The examples in the CHIN Data Dictionaries show how data should be entered in a field, rather than how the data will appear in the index.

9. Discipline

In the Humanities Data Dictionary, Discipline/Source indicates a broad category of discipline assigned, in part, by the Working Group or Task Force that originally proposed the creation of the data field. Discipline may include Art, History, Marine, Military, Archaeology (specimens), (Archaeology) Sites, Ethnology, Multidisciplinary or Administration. Multidisciplinary was assigned when more than two disciplinary task forces or working groups proposed the data field. Administration was used for data fields proposed by CHIN or by any working group to cover loans, exhibitions, conservation and other activities common to all museums.

10. Source

The Source indicates the Task Force, users' meeting, or institution which first suggested the field. Names followed by a PC indicate a pre-conversion meeting with a National Museums division. CHIN as a source indicates that the data field was added through research at CHIN or it was transferred from the Humanities Data Dictionary.

11. Authority List

For many key search fields, recommended authority lists (controlled vocabularies) are provided, and in some cases, a list of recommended terms will be provided within the Data Dictionary. It is important for museums to select term lists, thesauri, or classification systems for use in their collections management databases that are appropriate for the discipline and scale of their collections. Vocabulary control can help with both cataloguing and retrieval.

12. Status

The Status indicates whether the field is appropriate for upload to Artefacts Canada. Required fields in Artefacts Canada are also indicated.


Contact information for this web page
Date modified:

Guide de l'utilisateur - Sciences humaines

Remerciements

Le RCIP tient à remercier les organismes et les groupes suivants qui l'ont aidé à préparer les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP, à savoir les premiers utilisateurs du Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, les groupes de travail des utilisateurs du RCIP, les membres des groupes de travail des sciences naturelles, le groupe de travail des sites archéologiques, les groupes de travail du RCIP sur les normes, ainsi que les experts qui l'ont conseillé et appuyé.

Introduction

Un dictionnaire de données définit toutes les catégories ou tous les types d'information constituant une base de données. Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP décrivent les zones des bases de données employées pour la gestion et la documentation des collections de musées et des sites archéologiques. Chaque zone de données des Dictionnaires de données du RCIP est décrite par une étiquette de zone, un code mnémonique, un nom, une définition, des règles d'introduction, des zones connexes, un type de données, des exemples, une discipline et une source. Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP sont employés :

  • comme une norme pour les établissements canadiens qui versent des données sur les collections dans Artefacts Canada du RCIP ;
  • comme guides pour les établissements qui élaborent ou modifient un système de gestion des collections ;
  • pour aider les catalogueurs à consigner l'information de façon cohérente ou pour aider les utilisateurs de bases de données d'information sur les collections dans le cadre de stratégies de recherche.

Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP ne constituent pas une structure de données à utiliser dans un système de gestion des collections, mais ils peuvent être employés comme base pour établir ce genre de structure. Des musées de toutes sortes peuvent s'en servir pour recenser leurs besoins en matière d'information et pour normaliser leur documentation.

Contexte historique

Depuis la mise sur pied en 1972 du Programme du répertoire national, précurseur du Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, plusieurs spécialistes, chercheurs et utilisateurs d'ordinateurs de même que le personnel du Réseau ont suggéré, défini et affiné les zones de données des Dictionnaires de données du RCIP. Ces dictionnaires représentent donc l'aboutissement de nombreuses années de travail de collaboration.

En , le Comité consultatif du Programme du répertoire national mettait sur pied onze groupes de travail chargés d'étudier les domaines suivants : archéologie, beaux-arts et arts décoratifs, histoire, ethnologie et culture, botanique, zoologie des Invertébrés, sciences de la Terre, mammalogie, ichtyologie et herpétologie, ornithologie et paléontologie. Les membres des groupes de travail, chacun étant spécialiste de l'une des disciplines représentées, ont établi des catégories de renseignements nécessaires à la description des objets, des échantillons ou des spécimens relevant de ces disciplines.

C'est en que le RCIP choisit le système PARIS (Pictorial and Artifact Retrieval and Information System), adaptation du logiciel BASIS, et développa une base de données de formation comprenant une trentaine de zones d'information. Cette base de données permettait de réaliser le prototype d'une base de données de gestion des collections intégrant des données numériques et du texte.

Les zones de la base de données de formation furent fusionnées à celles qu'avaient choisies deux participants du projet pilote - soit le Musée royal de l'Ontario et le Musée canadien des civilisations - permettant ainsi l'élaboration de la toute première version du Dictionnaire de données du RCIP . En 1982, au moment de la conversion de l'ancien système ISIS-DEAP au nouveau système BASIS, d'autres utilisateurs et des experts-conseils du RCIP ont ajouté des zones au dictionnaire.

En 1996, les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP ont été modifiés pour pouvoir servir de norme dans la base de données Artefacts Canada du RCIP. De nouvelles zones y ont été ajoutées et un sous-ensemble des zones (celles qui sont employées dans Artefacts Canada) a été modifié : les références à des techniques spécifiques ou désuètes ont été supprimées et les définitions et les exemples ont été clarifiés. Enfin, en , le reste des zones a été revu et corrigé.

En , une série de nouvelles zones ont été ajoutées à la base de données Artefacts Canada du RCIP pour permettre aux musées d'enrichir davantage leurs enregistrements et de favoriser plus de précision dans la recherche, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux données géographiques. Ces changements se retrouvent dans les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP. Les nouvelles zones avaient été demandées par les membres contributeurs du RCIP, notamment le CHIN Geographical Locations Standards Working Group (en anglais seulement) et le groupe de travail sur les normes des collections archéologiques.

Après la publication, en , de l'outil sur le catalogage des objets culturels (Cataloguing Cultural Objects [CCO]), les groupes de travail du RCIP sur les normes l'ont évalué et en ont recommandé l'utilisation par les musées canadiens possédant des collections de sciences humaines. En , on a mis à jour les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP conformément aux règles d'introduction du CCO afin de les harmoniser avec les normes internationales. Pour faciliter la transition vers les nouvelles règles d'introduction des données et de fournir davantage de renseignements sur la norme du CCO, on a préparé trois documents :

Rapport avec d'autres normes ou lignes directrices

Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP comprennent des zones de renseignements de base ainsi que de nombreuses zones relevant d'une discipline particulière. Comparativement à d'autres normes ou lignes directrices sur la gestion des collections de musées, les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP sont généralement plus exhaustifs et plus ciblés. Bien qu'une base de données employée pour la gestion des collections de musée contienne seulement un sous-ensemble restreint des zones du Dictionnaire de données du RCIP , les utilisateurs peuvent choisir les unités d'information dont ils ont besoin à partir d'une foule de zones (dont certaines relèvent de disciplines particulières au sein d'un musée, telles les collections d'ornithologie ou les collections militaires).

Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP peuvent être mis en correspondance avec d'autres normes analogues, relatives à l'information sur le patrimoine culturel (p. ex., VRA Core, SPECTRUM, Object ID) ou avec des normes plus générales pour l'exploration des ressources (p. ex., Dublin Core). Ils peuvent également être mis en correspondance avec le modèle conceptuel de référence du CIDOC. Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP respectent les conventions internationales en ce qui a trait à la mise en forme des données, ayant intégré les règles d'introduction de la norme du CCO.

Utilisation du Dictionnaire de données

1. Collaboration aux ressources collectives du RCIP

Un sous-ensemble des zones décrites dans les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP constituent la norme employée par les musées qui versent des données sur leurs collections dans Artefacts Canada du RCIP. L'établissement participant y verse des données clés, mais non confidentielles, qui sont accessibles dans Internet par l'entremise d'Artefacts Canada.

Les musées qui désirent verser des données ne doivent pas forcément employer les mêmes noms de zone ni la même structure de données que les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP. Cependant, les zones des musées doivent être mises en correspondance avec celles des Dictionnaires de données du RCIP afin qu'il soit possible pour les utilisateurs d'effectuer des recherches et des tris, et d'afficher les données des ressources collectives ainsi créées. Pour plus d'information à ce sujet, veuillez consulter les Documents destinés aux contributeurs d'Artefacts Canada.

2. Création d'une base de données

A. Création d'une base de données de gestion des collections

Les musées trouveront utiles les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP pour l'élaboration de systèmes de gestion des collections à partir d'applications commerciales de développement de bases de données.

Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP ne constituent pas une structure de données utilisable dans un système de gestion des collections, mais peuvent servir de base à cette structure. Ils viennent plutôt définir les unités d'information que le musée devra consigner pour pouvoir documenter et gérer ses collections de façon appropriée. Les musées qui emploient les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP comme base d'une base de données relationnelle devront adapter les unités d'information en fonction d'une structure relationnelle. Par exemple, dans un système relationnel, une table peut servir à stocker l'information sur les adresses ; par exemple, toute adresse (p. ex., celle du donateur, du propriétaire précédent, etc.) sera stockée dans la table, si bien que les zones d'adresse spécialisées (adresse du donateur) ne sont plus nécessaires.

Le musée peut examiner les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP et y choisir un sous-ensemble de zones qui réponde à ses besoins. Les définitions de zones comprises dans les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP aideront le musée à faire un choix éclairé à ce chapitre.

B. Adaptation d'un système commercial de gestion des collections

Certains systèmes commerciaux de gestion des collections en vente au Canada emploient les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP comme base pour leur structure de zones. D'autres fournissent une structure élémentaire de base de données, mais sont conçus de telle manière que le musée peut y ajouter de nouvelles zones de données, changer les types de données, renommer les zones, etc. Le musée peut se servir des Dictionnaires de données du RCIP en vue d'une adaptation éventuelle de systèmes commerciaux de gestion des collections.

3. Normes d'introduction et d'extraction

A. Normes relatives au contenu de la base de données

Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP proposent pour chaque zone une définition de l'information à y consigner. On s'assure ainsi que tous les utilisateurs consignent les informations semblables dans la même zone. Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP peuvent servir de base à un système à fichiers non hiérarchiques ou à un système relationnel, mais ils ne prescrivent pas de structure de données particulière.

B. Normes de mise en forme des données

Les règles d'introduction déterminent le format selon lequel les données doivent être entrées. Il est préférable de s'en tenir à un format normalisé, notamment pour le nom, la date et les autres données facilitant l'extraction de données. Il est en effet très important d'appliquer des normes de mise en forme pour une extraction aisée des données. Les règles de mise en forme issues de la norme du CCO ont été intégrées au Dictionnaire de données du RCIP - Sciences humaines.

C. Normes de terminologie

Des listes d'autorité ont été dressées pour quelques-unes des zones clés par les groupes de travail du RCIP et ont été incluses dans les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP. L'utilisation d'autres normes établies pour le contenu ou la terminologie, par exemple le Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) et Nomenclature, est recommandée pour certaines zones, mais elles font l'objet d'autres publications. Les ressources sur les normes d'Échange professionnel du RCIP constituent également une bonne source d'information pour les musées qui tentent de choisir les normes de terminologie appropriées.

Pour créer une liste d'autorité fondée sur l'usage, les utilisateurs peuvent consulter les index d'Artefacts Canada. Ces index indiquent les termes les plus fréquemment utilisés et, par conséquent, le mot s'avérant sans doute le plus approprié.

4. Autres outils de documentation et de gestion des collections

Les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP peuvent aussi servir à mettre au point des outils comme des feuilles de catalogage ou des fiches d'introduction de données, et à établir des règles pour l'entrée des données.

Sommaire des éléments de définition

Différents éléments servent à définir chacune des zones énumérées dans les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP, à savoir :

1. Étiquette de zone

L'étiquette de zone correspond au nom complet d'une zone de données et en identifie le contenu au moment de l'affichage ou de l'impression.

2. Code mnémonique de zone

Le code mnémonique est l'abréviation attribuée à chaque zone pour l'identifier de manière unique. En général, les codes mnémoniques portant sur une entité ont le même suffixe. Par exemple, les codes mnémoniques comportant le suffixe AR dans le Dictionnaire des données des sciences humaines représentent un groupe de zones décrivant l'Artiste ou l'artisan.

Nous avons essayé de conserver la même racine pour désigner les zones de même nature. C'est ainsi que les codes mnémoniques des zones Pays d'origine et Pays de la source contiennent tous les deux "PY". Dans la mesure du possible, les zones qui se retrouvent aussi bien dans le domaine des sciences humaines que celui des sciences naturelles possèdent le même code mnémonique, le même nom et partagent la même racine.

3. Nom de zone

Le nom de zone est un autre nom ou un nom employé précédemment pour décrire une zone. Dans la plupart des cas, il s'agit de noms utilisés dans des versions antérieures des Dictionnaires de données. Ils ont été inclus dans les Dictionnaires de données du RCIP pour aider les musées dont les noms de zone reprennent ceux de versions précédentes des Dictionnaires de données.

4. Définition de zone

La définition indique la raison d'être de la zone et contient des indications sur la nature des données qui doivent être entrées.

5. Règles d'introduction

Les règles d'introduction précisent de quelle manière il faut entrer les données dans les zones. Par exemple, la règle peut vouloir que les noms, les dates, etc. soient entrés d'une façon précise.

6. Zones connexes

Les zones connexes indiquent les autres choix possibles s'il existe des zones avec un nom ou une définition similaires.

7. Type de données

Chaque zone de la base de données est assortie de l'un de plusieurs «types de données», qui définit comment le système traite les données de cette zone. Les systèmes commerciaux de gestion des collections comportent des zones dont le type de données a déjà été défini, encore qu'il soit possible pour l'utilisateur de le changer. Les musées qui mettent au point leurs bases de données de gestion des collections devront définir le type de données pour chacune des zones qu'ils désirent inclure. Les principaux types de données sont les suivants :

Nombre entier
Les nombres entiers (sans décimales) sont indexés en vue d'un traitement mathématique.
Nombre réel
Les nombres réels (avec décimales) sont indexés en vue d'un traitement mathématique.
Chaîne alphanumérique
Une chaîne alphanumérique est une suite de caractères qui comprend des lettres, des signes de ponctuation ou tout autre caractère utilisé normalement comme séparateur de données.

8. Exemples

Les exemples des Dictionnaires de données du RCIP illustrent la façon dont les données doivent être entrées dans une zone, plutôt que la façon dont elles figurent dans l'index.

9. Discipline

Dans le Dictionnaire des données des sciences humaines, Discipline/Source représente la spécialité générale attribuée par le groupe de travail qui, à l'origine, a proposé la création de cette zone. Elle peut comprendre les sujets suivants : art, histoire marine et militaire, spécimens archéologiques, sites archéologiques, ethnologie ou encore des catégories pluridisciplinaires ou d'administration. Le terme "pluridisciplinaire" a été attribué lorsque plus de deux groupes de travail ont proposé cette zone. La catégorie "Administration" a été entérinée par le RCIP ou par un groupe de travail pour consigner de l'information sur les prêts, les expositions, la conservation et autres activités propres à tous les musées.

10. Source

La Source indique le groupe de travail, la réunion d'utilisateurs ou l'établissement qui a proposé la zone. L'abréviation PC après un nom indique qu'une réunion de pré-conversion a eu lieu avec une division des Musées nationaux. Le « RCIP » comme source indique que la zone de données a été ajoutée au terme de recherches au RCIP ou qu'elle a été transférée du Dictionnaire de données des sciences humaines.

11. Liste d'autorité

Pour de nombreuses zones clés de recherche, des listes d'autorité recommandées (termes normalisés) sont fournies et, dans certains cas, une liste d'autorité recommandée est fournie à même le Dictionnaire de données. Il est important que les musées choisissent d'utiliser des listes de termes, des thésaurus ou des systèmes de classification pour leurs bases de données de gestion de collections qui conviennent à la discipline et à l'importance de leurs collections. La normalisation du vocabulaire facilite tant le catalogage que l'extraction des données.

12. État

L'état indique si la zone est appropriée pour le téléchargement vers Artefacts Canada. Il désigne également les zones obligatoires dans Artefacts Canada.


Coordonnées de cette page web
Date de modification :